Depaving

While in Portland I went for coffee with my son at Waypost, which happened to be around the corner from this vacant lot.

Fargo Garden site

Fargo Garden site

I had read about depave.org on the Web and hoped to destroy my driveway someday. After I took the picture, a young woman, curious about why I’d taken the picture, stopped to talk and told me eventually volunteers will create a multi-level garden, a complex system with plants occupying a range of vertical niches.

 This brought to mind the sophisticated understanding of farming featured in A Farm for the Future, by the British filmmaker Rebecca Hoskings.  It looks at the oil-food nexus and food security and culminates in a revolutionary kind of–multi-level– permaculture farming. I discovered the film through the great Robert Paterson’s Weblog.

Leave a Reply

